“The only people with whom you should try to get even are those who have helped you.” (John E. Southard)


My good friend, Suzanne Whitmore, suggested this quote and given our particular relationship it makes perfect sense. Suz and I worked together for just a few short months in 2008. We endured what can only be described as a hostile work environment. Together, we discovered the true meaning of “Misery loves company.” In spite of a vast age difference (I’m old and cranky and she’s young and vivacious) we pulled together and toiled away in nearly impossible circumstances. Frankly, if she hadn’t been there I would have only lasted a week. Considering how little we actually accomplished in five months, we both agree our friendship is all we have to show for our efforts.

I think the key ingredient in this quote is its irony. Getting even with someone would seem to be all about retribution but when you turn it around by focusing on the positive aspect of friendship it changes completely. In my life I have enjoyed many opportunities because someone gave me a hand and virtually all of those people are still my friends. At least, I hope so. This blog is just one way I have found to repay those acts of kindness. I don’t have much in the way of material resources to make a difference for anybody else but I can write stories that are encouraging, funny and meaningful.

All of us have something inside us that makes us special and that needs to be shared with others. That’s the instinctive part of our soul that forces us to lend a hand and brings us together in lifelong relationships. Words, deeds, and prayers offered on someone else’s behalf will eventually be returned in kind as long as we never expect them to be. Helping another human being is the best medicine we can give to ourselves. Generosity, kindness and compassion are the building blocks of humanity. Without them we are just dust in the wind.

I haven’t seen Suz in more than two years but I don’t feel any less close to her than when we were bound together in our misery at work. We email and talk occasionally but I know without question she’s always there for me if I need her. So now it seems, getting even with her is a good goal. That’s kind of the point of this month’s blogging. To pay back something to any and all who have found me on the web, bookmarked my page and kept coming back for more of my wordsmithing. As I inch ever closer to 100,000 visitors to my site it makes me realize I have much to be thankful for and many, many people to get even with. If you’re reading this now, you just joined the club.

©Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com, 2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About grhgraph

Author of grhgraph
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “The only people with whom you should try to get even are those who have helped you.” (John E. Southard)

  1. Jan says:

    You are such an inspiration. I look forward to your blog as you seem to capture my heart with your incredible stories about life. Thanks for sharing your gift of expression.

    • grhgraph says:

      My gift of expression may be all I have so I have to share it. When it comes to inspiration, I just want others to find it in themselves to step out of their comfort zone and give the world a try. None of us know what we can achieve until we try.

  2. duaneburman says:

    SOUTHard comment cannot be matched by this NORTHard; except to say thanks for the “great contributions you’ve made to the future”—both in your thoughtful “inspirations” on the e:Pages and on the hiWays for the kids, Brother G.

  3. kcsuz says:

    Guy – our lives were meant to cross! I love you more than all the beautiful words can describe. I like to believe that I surround myself with individuals, talents, artists and creative giants. You are a all of those but mostly a creative giant in my book! The ambassador of WOW! xo Love you and miss you. Time for a lunch date!

  4. stormy1812 says:

    Paying it forward is the best kind of reward if you ask me. I always enjoy your words – they’re always so expressive and full of heart.

Leave a Reply

