“Commitment to continuity builds emotional stability” (Robert Schuller)


I was given this challenging quote by Duane Burman. Duane and I are friends because of this blog and his sister Gwenna’s persistence in cajoling me into a writing career. That’s right, without Gwenna Hendrix my writing skills would still be hidden in my fingers. And here’s the funny part, Gwenna and I have never met. We know each other because she was a client of mine when I worked for a publishing company in 2007. The very first time I ever called her on the phone, we hit it off like long lost friends. I sent her a copy of my initial attempt at an autobiography and she loved it. From then on, it was a steady dose of friendly persuasion. I’m trying to be nice here, let’s just say she’s relentless when she wants something. I started the blog 2 years later and the rest is history. Duane heard about my brand of blogging and then contacted me when he came to Kansas City for business. Relentlessness must run in the family because Duane is in a league of his own when it comes to higher order thinking. Matching wits with Duane makes me feel like the village idiot, so I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that this quote peaked his interest and gave me a huge challenge.

I think I know where Dr. Schuller was going when he said this but it’s hard to expand on something that clearly speaks for itself. I believe he was trying to reinforce the idea of devotion to the cause of Christ. He was trying to build a case for commitment to faith and continuity of purpose with the end result being emotional stability and the benefits that come with it. I couldn’t agree more wholeheartedly. In my work with foster children, emotional stability is virtually non-existent and the root cause of dysfunctional families. The commitment to a stable family environment is the goal we work towards in the foster care system but it’s a huge struggle to build any level of continuity where people come and go indiscriminately.

It’s an interesting historical footnote that previously foster care was almost exclusively the province of churches, not the state. I have no evidence to support any claims as to which one worked best but it does make me wonder if faith in God wouldn’t come in handy as a source of motivation. In spite of all the negative publicity organized religion has been dealing with lately, the fact remains that individual Christians have achieved more than many organizations. The media just never reports on mission work and frankly most missionaries have no time to waste on interviews. This doesn’t even include the dozens of families I know who are doing foster care as part of God’s plan for their life. Their continuous commitment to helping children is often the only emotional stability these kids have ever known. These foster parents don’t ask for recognition and none of them need my encouragement. They already have all the benefits of faith and the reassurance that comes with it.

My previous blogs that were about Dietrich Bonhoeffer and Martin Luther King Jr. have something in common. Both of these great men were inspired by Jesus’ Sermon on the Mount. In the book of Matthew, Chapters 5-7, you will find the text of this great lesson. I highly recommend it to everyone, regardless of your religious background. Anyone who seeks to live a fulfilling life based on a commitment to emotional stability will find the formula for success in this text.

If by chance I didn’t make it clear enough, I am forever grateful for Duane and Gwenna’s continuing faith in my writing skills. They constantly give me new ideas and encouragement to keep trying to improve my words and without them this blog would be infinitely more difficult. South Dakota is lucky to have you.

©Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com, 2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About grhgraph

Author of grhgraph
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “Commitment to continuity builds emotional stability” (Robert Schuller)

  1. duaneburman says:

    Hmmmm…….Brother G., while many of us have been sitting around and “wonder(ing) if faith in God wouldn’t come in handy as a source of motivation”—you have repeatedly raised your hand(s) to so willingly go out and “help the helpless” among us; with no expectations of direct rewards! The investments that you (and the many others, you referenced, involved in foster care, etc.) definitely fall under “taking your religious faith to the streets”….so that those many young folks that you have personally touched will not only never be the same again; but will no doubt often call upon the faith you shared, also sharing that faith with others by their actions going forward.
    As for your writing….WELL, I’d say having the international following you’ve accumulated indicates either FAME or in-FAME—-either way most that encounter your words virtually are likely to experience one of your “time-bombs” that will go off at some point in the future; when they least expect it; but quite likely will need the Critical Thinking it inspires the most.
    Blessings, Brother.

    • grhgraph says:

      Thank you Duane. You and Gwenna are the ones I always strive to impress with my writing. As long as you two think it’s good enough I’m always more confident it will make it everywhere else. Speaking for village idiots everywhere, I’m glad you’re here to keep raising the bar of critical thinking. Just don’t ever stop challenging me to try harder.
      PS. I’m still waiting for Gwenna’s rebuttal. Where is she when I need her?

  2. Suzanne says:

    Guy – this post got my eyes all wet. Thanks again for all you do. I don’t post here enough but know that I read every word when I get a chance to sit down and read. :) Love you! Love all that you stand for! Suz

    • grhgraph says:

      Suz,
      Dry those eyes my dear. I want my words to be meaningful but in a positive way that makes us happy to be alive. And FYI I wouldn’t keep writing if friends like you weren’t coming back to read my stuff so it’s kind of a symbiotic relationship, which is the best kind. Thanks.

  3. stormy1812 says:

    “Without Gwenna Hendrix my writing skills would still be hidden in my fingers.” – That’s a great line! It does seem to me that whenever there is faith in something, there is more unity, continuity and emotional stability. That faith may vary, but at the core, when there’s faith there’s a more positive outcome. As usual, a well-written piece. :)

    • grhgraph says:

      It’s funny how stuff like that occurs to me when I’m at the keyboard. Faith is so much more than belief in God and life after death. To me it’s more about the here and now and faith in each other. The brotherhood of mankind is something I’m still hoping to see come true in my lifetime.

  4. gwenna hendrix says:

    How nice of you!

    You shouldn’t have!

    I admit to just now reading this post, so your previous email left me a bit clueless! :P

    I’m delighted that life continues to intrigue and challenge you; that’s why we have such good conversations that leave me pondering.

    I am still at work, so will get back to it.

    Keep on…keepin’ on! :)

    Thanks! gh

    Date: Mon, 28 Oct 2013 14:42:21 +0000 To: inga8888@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

