“Faith is not being sure where you’re going but going anyway.” (Frederick Buechner)


In my work with foster children, I come in contact with a wide variety of people. Frankly, some of them are hard to love but every once in a while I come across a person who stands out and is easy to appreciate. Today was my lucky day, because I had the honor of working with Michelle B. I’m not going to tell you her last name because she would probably be embarrassed by any amount of attention or recognition she might get. This fantastic woman and her husband have been foster parents for 19 years and they currently have taken in 4 siblings along with their own 4 kids.

As we chatted today, it became clear to me that she believes God has set this course for her and she thanks Him for the opportunity to make a difference for all these kids. God spoke and she listened. How many of us can honestly say we do the same? And let me be even more emphatic here, two of these foster kids are autistic and 2 are still in diapers. Who among us can deal with that set of circumstances? Even with all of these responsibilities she always has those kids ready to go when I show up, which is extremely important to those of us who transport them. Furthermore, she always greets me with a huge smile and thanks me for the small part I play in these kids lives. The woman is a marvel and I am proud to say I know her family.

People like Michelle make my life better just by reminding me to see the big picture. God gives us all opportunities to make a difference every day and when we listen closely enough we act accordingly by trusting in His wisdom. I wish everyone could see life the way Michelle does. The joy she shares with those around her is so contagious and honest that she is truly blessed in return. Those who give the most, receive the most and it’s just that simple. Like I said, she isn’t looking for recognition and she won’t take any credit for her actions, she just takes direction well when God points the way for her.

I wish I could do that in my life. I think working with foster kids is somehow part of God’s master plan but I have many doubts. It seems like I should be doing something more important like running a business and managing people but is that really more important? So many times, I ask myself, if safely transporting children is much of a career move and does it really matter? If I had as much faith as Michelle maybe the answer would be clearer. For now, I just do my best to make some small difference for these kids. Seeing how well this has worked out for Michelle makes me realize how much more closely I need to listen for God’s direction.

I think God has put me here on Earth to make a difference for as many people as I can each day. He has blessed me with the gift of writing and he keeps giving me new stories to tell in this blog. For that, I am eternally grateful and will continue to do just that. Now I just need to work on the part where I believe he will provide for my necessities like rent and food and tuition. I do have his promise based on what Jesus had to say, “All things are possible to him who believes.”

©Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About grhgraph

Author of grhgraph
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

