“Some day at Christmas… there will be Peace on Earth.” (Stevie Wonder)


I stumbled across this song recently while looking for some other rare Christmas music on ITunes. The version I like was by Jack Johnson but Stevie Wonder recorded it first in 1967. (According to Wikipedia, it was written by Ron Miller and Bryan Wells) I think this is the perfect Christmas song and maybe this year more than ever.

Some day at Christmas men won’t be boys

playing with bombs like boys play with toys

One warm December our hearts will see

a world where men are free

 

Some day at Christmas there will be no wars

when we have learned what Christmas is for

When we have found out what life is really worth

then there will be Peace on Earth

 

Some day our love, our dreams will come to be

some day in a world where men are free

Maybe not in time for you or for me

but some day at Christmas time

 

Some day at Christmas there will be no tears

all men are equal and no men have fears

One shining moment my heart ran away

from the world that we live in today

 

Some day at Christmas men will not fail

take hope because your love will prevail

Some day in a new world that we can only start

with hope in every heart

 

Some day our love, our dreams will come to be

some day in a world where men are free

Maybe not in time for you or for me

but some day at Christmas time there will be

Peace on Earth, there will be Peace on Earth.

Stevie Wonder has given the world so many meaningful songs but this one has touched me more than any other. For a guy who was born blind he sees pretty well. In spite of all the things that are wrong with this world he can still imagine a Christmas when men are free, when we will know what life is really worth, when all men are equal, when love will prevail, when all our dreams will come to be and when there will be Peace on Earth.

He’s even willing to admit that it may not come in time for him to see it. Just being able to say he helped start it would be enough to make him happy. Maybe in some ways being blind is an advantage. I know I struggle with the reality I see every day. The world of foster children is pretty stark and hardly a week goes by that I am not troubled by the stories I hear and the kids I meet. There are even days when I wish I had never taken the job in the first place because my ignorance was bliss. I had no idea how many kids needed help and now that I do know, it leaves me with no choice but to keep trying to make some small difference for each and every one of them.

This song has given me some glimmer of hope that we all can make life better if we just do something, anything for those around us each day. The truth is we will never have Peace on Earth if we don’t feel this way year round. The Christmas Spirit is nice but once a year doesn’t cut it when so many people are suffering. We can’t be blissfully ignorant any longer and we have to do things that matter. If you still believe there is nothing you can do to change the world then you have chosen that reality and sadly, you’re wasting your chance. Now that I have seen the truth first hand, I know I will never be able to go back to my benign innocence and frankly, I wouldn’t want to. There is another Stevie Wonder song that sums up just how I feel this Christmas.

“For once in my life, I know I can take it

Long as I know I have love, I can make it

For once in my life, I have someone who needs me.”

©Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About grhgraph

Author of grhgraph
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Some day at Christmas… there will be Peace on Earth.” (Stevie Wonder)

  1. hali yikama says:

    Thanks for such an interesting article here. I must say that I have never heard about anything like that before.

  2. Andrea says:

    Even though I work for a children’s charity, I believe I could do more. Your post is a very good reminder. Although I was left wondering if you have ever considered becoming a foster parent yourself?

  3. Claire says:

    Great great song!

    Thanks so much for sharing the lyrics

Leave a Reply

