“He was a preacher and never charged nothing for his preaching, and it was worth it too.” (Mark Twain)


Writing this blog is a bit like preaching to the choir. I very rarely touch on subjects that are so far out there that others can’t relate but I would like to stir things up a bit now and then. I really do think about some strange stuff and I have to force myself to keep my mouth shut, or in this case, my fingers still. On any given day, I find myself contemplating black holes, infinity, the Mayan Calendar, who makes the best Anejo Tequila and why do people use so much catsup? I’m pretty sure the last one would be the most widely debated subject and it’s hard to even find someone who wants to talk about infinity.

For me, that’s just a meager sampling of the randomness of my thoughts. If it weren’t for the History and Discovery channels I might actually think about normal stuff but they keep forcing me to contemplate much greater concepts. Writing is my outlet for brain overload but the really out-there stuff gets stuffed in the back of my head where it can’t get out. In the Sherlock Holmes novels Arthur Conan Doyle wrote about the brain/attic. His thesis was basically that a brain is similar to an attic in that it can only hold so much information and if we constantly fill it up with useless drivel we will never be able to find the important stuff when we need it most.

I try really hard not to write useless drivel, unlike way too many other bloggers. I mean really, why write anything if you’re not going to attempt to make a point or tell me something I need to know. I honestly don’t care  what kind of latte you ordered at Starbucks or how your kid did on his spelling test. That might be important to his Grandma Sophie in Seattle but for the rest of us it is the essence of useless drivel.

My high school English teacher, Everett Rees, must be spinning in his grave right now given the level of competent writing being produced on the internet these days. 99% of these blogs would be shredded with his bare hands and his tongue lashing would make sailors blush. You haven’t even attempted to be a writer until you have been assailed by Everett Rees for grammatical errors, misspelled words, punctuation problems and most of all failure to state your case and make a cogent argument to support your point. To this day, he haunts my every keystroke and inhabits my brain like some grey matter librarian forcing me to be quiet and think clearly. But I will say this much, the man knew how to teach English and for that I am eternally grateful.

Great writing isn’t about the author it’s about the reader. My words only add up to something if someone out there makes the effort to read and follow along with my statement of the case. I owe the readers of this blog content that they may find interesting or challenging or humorous but at the very least informative. Stories from my past aren’t good enough if you had to be there to get it. I know I wouldn’t waste my time writing it if I didn’t think I was adding value to the experience.

My hope for this blog is that it starts conversations and reveals universal truths about mankind. I just want people to start thinking for themselves and use the brains and common sense that God gave them. It’s not too late for mankind but useless drivel certainly clutters up our thought processes all too frequently and keeps us from talking about issues that matter. Take the pledge with me, “I will ignore useless drivel in favor of wisdom and make it a point to share my own knowledge with others each and every day.” Maybe this quote from Josh Billings will help us undertake this mission, “Wisdom that don’t make us happier ain’t worth plowing for.”

©Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content

About grhgraph

Author of grhgraph
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to “He was a preacher and never charged nothing for his preaching, and it was worth it too.” (Mark Twain)

  1. mary wise says:

    new at internet, not sure what Website means. New vocabulary to me. Guy, the people that write these blogs, are only copying other bloggers. They want attention. If you are much more intelligent, and I believe y ou are, than your other bloggers, then the point is the intelligent, able, and interesting blogger is RESPONSIBLE for all others. Many people don’t reach the realm that you have so gloriously reached. You are blessed. We must be responsible, and inspire others. They don’t know the path. You are a grand person. I am so glad to read your joyous blog. I have read many, hundreds of blogs, and it does not pique my curiosity. Thank you for sharing. I hope your financial world pulls together. Keep the little ones in your life. They are literally lost – no instructor. sincerely, mary

  2. Suzanne says:

    This is off-subject 🙂

    Today, I bought a book called “Do-it-yourself brain surgery and other home skills”… home cloning, knit mona lisa in 3-D, breeding combat hamsters and a Kaikaze Course. The warning sayd “This book can seriously damage your health” – I can’t wait to read it! 🙂

    I thought of you when I bought it. It’s like we used to discuss at work; so many gears going at once in our head so keep the information useful.

  3. Suzanne says:

    I’d like to claim that my “sayd” was deliberate. Alas, I have fat fingers.

  4. David B says:

    You had Mr. Reese, I had Mrs. White… She actually looked up my transcript after the first semester our senior year and informed me that if I didn’t want to, I didn’t have to take the second semester of English because I had enough credits… She didn’t seem to like not only how I wrote, but also what I wrote… The one that set her off was my paper about how senior English was a waste of time! By the way, I did stay in the class and kept my opinions to myself after that…

  5. biggy mols says:

    Whatttttttttt? What is the context of the Mark Twain Quote?

    • grhgraph says:

      Honestly, I don’t know the context. I think he was trying to make fun of preachers in general but with Twain one can never be completely sure.

Leave a Reply

