“When I feed the hungry, they call me a saint. When I ask why they have no food, they call me a Communist.” (Archbishop Helder Camara)


Isn’t it amazing how we react to new information based on our prejudices and preconceived ideas about the world? How we interpret world events is purely a product of our unique experiences and our innate bias, which we all possess to a greater or lesser degree. No one is truly immune from some form of prejudice because we all have a vested self-interest in any outcome. The best we can hope for is a willingness to hear the other viewpoint before we make our own proclamations or validations. The sad truth is, we have lost this ability as a society. We let the media decide for us how we should think and they are perfectly willing to make whatever argument suits their purposes. Objectivity is not one of their purposes and it never will be. Therefore, we are giving our God-given right to free thinking away to the loudest voices not the clearest thinkers.

That worries me and it should worry you too. America only exists today because some very fine men did some very clear, objective thinking long ago but they had the advantage of much less media bias. I still think the media has a place in a free society and I try to listen to all the various sources of coverage just to make sure I’m hearing both sides but the messages I hear are completely lacking in common sense and bear little resemblance to any rational thought process. It’s  99.9% hype that is predetermined by the media outlet’s brand and the advertisers they seek. Edward R. Murrow would have a hard time getting hired these days because he believed in unbiased reporting and that journalism should never be controlled by the financial considerations of advertising. He was the last of his kind and never to be heard from again.

In my own small, insignificant way I have tried to be a voice of reason. Nobody tells me what to write about in this blog but I do feel an obligation to practice common sense and write meaningful articles for all to read. I just wish more people would take up my cause and express their best thoughts. The internet has given me the means to reach people all over the world and that is something that has never been possible before. The more we communicate with different people the less chance there is that we will feel threatened by them. We may never be on the same page politically, spiritually or economically but what if we just didn’t hate each other, what then? I believe we might just learn to get along and find a better way to live together on this planet. If we continue to practice ignorance, prejudice and hatred we will all suffer the consequences of our foolishness and that outcome is too terrible to even consider.

We can make a better world but it starts with each of us and our willingness to think for ourselves. Let’s not let the media color our thoughts with their branded messages and hyper-repetitive pronouncements. Let’s talk to each other across all borders and in all languages. Let’s work together for the common cause of freedom and all its incumbent benefits. Freedom is the one thing in life that I would gladly die for but more importantly it’s what I live for and freedom must be shared with everyone. I think the most important passage in the Bible is, “Love thy neighbor.” It’s the most unequivocal statement of all time. It’s not love those who look like you, or love those who talk like you, or love those who think like you it’s love everybody everywhere. It doesn’t get any clearer than that so why are we still missing the point? It’s because we possess more prejudices than practical wisdom and we let others do our thinking for us. That has to stop and soon. If we keep missing the point we are all in trouble. It really is the only way to live that makes sense.

This will be my 111th blog since I started 2 years ago. I hope it’s my lucky number because if I have to keep going till my 777th I may not be able to think that well by then, much less be able to type. I know my days are numbered and when God calls me home I will go willingly. I am not about to waste any of my last days living with regret for things I should have done. I am going to keep writing whatever needs to be said and these posts will be my legacy after I’m gone. If it’s today or tomorrow then 111 will be good enough. If it’s 20 years from now then 777 is possible. I’m pretty sure there will always be a need for someone who can think logically and express ideas clearly. If you have those abilities in any degree, you really should join the cause and state your case. I welcome all comers who have the guts to put their cards on the table for all to see. It’s a pretty incredible feeling when someone from half a world away takes the time to find you and actually writes a positive comment and I can’t wait to hear from somebody new again tomorrow. I leave you all with one of my favorite quotes from the Chinese philosopher Lao Tzu.

Kindness in words creates confidence.

Kindness in thinking creates profoundness.

Kindness in giving creates love.

©Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About grhgraph

Author of grhgraph
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “When I feed the hungry, they call me a saint. When I ask why they have no food, they call me a Communist.” (Archbishop Helder Camara)

  1. Many will laugh at your pie-in-the-sky idealism, but I feel that your words are truly inspired, and inspiring.

    I will share the link to this page, in its entirety, including all information relating to your authorship and copyright, as your words dearly need to be shared.

    • grhgraph says:

      Thanks for the confirmation that I’m doing something right. I know I’m just one voice and I mostly get drowned out by all the screaming going on elsewhere but at least I will go to my grave knowing I tried to make a difference.

  2. Chris Marsh says:

    I found your blog by chance via a search for the exact words of ‘When I feed the hungry…’. I then looked at your home page and ‘liked’ it. Next day I looked up your blog again and couldn’t find this post – went back to google. I have a wordpress blog too and it lists my titles down the side – could you do that for the sake of your fans? Chris

    • grhgraph says:

      Thanks for the comment. I looked at other available formats from WP but I haven’t seen one that listed all the titles, just archives by month. Can you point me in the right direction?
      Guy

      • Chris Marsh says:

        Sorry, yes, you’re right. On my blog (http://tagoreanworld.wordpress.com/), it’s only recent posts that are listed by title. But there is a search box, and if you had that it would have helped me find ‘when I feed the hungry’. Chris

      • grhgraph says:

        Chris,
        I made the changes you requested. I hope this helps. Thanks for giving me the extra incentive to update the site. I always figured it would be too time consuming to improve it but it was pretty easy. Now if I can just find the time to write more often. I must be doing something right so I better keep trying.
        Guy

  3. Yes, it helps a lot! I must do some work on my own blog – which nobody (well hardly anybody) reads. Chris

Leave a Reply

