“More than any other time in history, mankind faces a crossroads. One path leads to despair and utter hopelessness. The other, to total extinction. Let us pray we have the wisdom to choose correctly.” (Woody Allen)


I spend my days working with abused and neglected children and my nights trying to write something incredibly funny that will become a bestseller. I guess that’s why I like Woody Allen. He makes me laugh at the thought of total despair, hopelessness and extinction. Maybe, if I was bi-polar, it would double my chances of saying something funny like this.

In my opinion, laughter is like soap for the soul. It washes away all the grime of prejudice and leaves us feeling hopeful and caring. In those moments when we let go and laugh at ourselves, we are the closest to God we will ever be. His request that we “Love one another” is accomplished every time we laugh together.

This Thanksgiving will be the first one without my Dad. His smile and sense of humor will be impossible to replace but I’m hopeful we will honor his memory by telling jokes and laughing as often as possible. It makes it a little easier when I realize that God himself is laughing more this year because my Dad is there to poke fun at Him. I’m quite sure he’s already working on several jokes about how much he hates onions. Some people might think that making fun of God is bad manners but I don’t see it that way. No one can convince me that God doesn’t have a great sense of humor. After all, He created creatures like the aardvark and the platypus and who can’t laugh at chimps. God didn’t put us here to be boring. He created this planet to give us everything we need to be happy. Laughter is like music to His ears. I know I will never have to answer His question, “How come I never heard you laugh?” Can you say the same?

As we celebrate the Holidays this year, let’s all remember to laugh first and shop later. I, for one, would gladly trade any present for a great joke and a heartfelt hug. It’s been way too long since I saw cranberry jelly come shooting out of somebody’s nose.

©Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

About grhgraph

Author of grhgraph
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “More than any other time in history, mankind faces a crossroads. One path leads to despair and utter hopelessness. The other, to total extinction. Let us pray we have the wisdom to choose correctly.” (Woody Allen)

  1. DAb says:

    WOW! Woody must have been spending time in Washington, recently.
    Thanks to your Dad, you and God’s inspiration—this Thanksgiving and Christmas, I will be spending lots of time sharing plenty of “soap for the soul”, along with hugs and kisses!

Leave a Reply

