“Outside of a dog, a book is a man’s best friend. Inside of a dog it’s too dark to read.” (Groucho Marx)


After two and a half years and much encouragement and/or nagging, I finally finished my first book. The title is “Words to Lead By.”You can find it on Amazon as an e-book for $2.99. I would like to thank my high school English teacher Everett Rees for giving me the skill to write well. If he were alive today, I would print out a copy and hand it to him personally. At which time, he would probably hand it back to me with a big red D+ and I would be extremely proud. That’s the funny thing about writing, it’s just you against the word (that’s not a misspelling). I never wrote anything with the expectation of achieving fame or fortune. Writing is just something I have to do and it makes me happy. If anybody else enjoys it, that’s just an added bonus.

This blog has certainly taught me more about myself than I could have ever imagined. After 125 posts and nearly 25,000 views, I have realized the value of self-reflection and challenged myself to do it better every time. I don’t always exceed my expectations but the creative experience is so powerful it’s hard to describe. It’s a lot like holding your own baby for the first time; an overwhelming sense of wonder and joy at a new creation. Now I understand my paternal instincts better and my sense of responsibility to others.

That’s the most important reason I had for writing this book. I wanted to impart the wisdom I gained in my 25 years of small business ownership to the next generation of leaders. The older I get the more urgent that desire becomes and it finally overtook me. I was never some leadership genius. I learned everything the hard way or by asking my father for advice. Over many years and with his considerable teaching skills at my disposal, I got better at it. Now that he has passed on, it’s my turn to teach the young ones how to lead and why it’s important to take responsibility. In some ways, I am very concerned about the younger generation because I think too many parents have abdicated their responsibility to the school system. Kids don’t learn the lessons that really matter from anyone but their parents and grandparents and that worries me.

If you’re a parent, give this book to your kids who are in high school or college. The lessons are universally true and not just about business. The future can be as bright as any of us want it to be but it’s going to take some very motivated young people to make it come together. I have nothing but high hopes for the coming generations and I intend to keep writing things I think can help them along the way. Whatever wisdom I have developed in my life is only useful if I share it with others. Keeping it to myself would be selfish and stupid and I have no desire to waste my gift. The older we get, the more our responsibility grows. Teaching, coaching, counseling and sharing are the best parts of maturity and those of us who strive to make a difference will know a greater sense of fulfillment than ever before.

This book is just the first of what I’m calling Guydebooks, catchy huh? The next one is going to be called Great Minds Think Alike (Almost). It’s a bit more humorous than reflective but it has some valuable lessons from smarter people than I. If I happen to get lucky and these e-books sell well, maybe I will dedicate myself to writing exclusively and get off the road some day. Whatever happens is all good because I’m doing it for the right reason, to make a difference for others and maybe some day one of these kids will follow in my footsteps. Thomas, are you listening?

©Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About grhgraph

Author of grhgraph
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Outside of a dog, a book is a man’s best friend. Inside of a dog it’s too dark to read.” (Groucho Marx)

  1. gwenna says:

    Way to go, Guy! Huge applause for having the courage, tenacity, and heart it takes to put your thoughts together and make them so readily available!

    Can’t wait for the next book!

    gh

  2. DAb says:

    Ample evidence of the amazing “Legacy” that you’re leaving for future generations, Brother G!
    Thanks for sharing and know that I consider it very special of you to take the risk to do so.

  3. Link needed here to the Amazon site !

Leave a Reply

