“Do what you can, where you are, with what you have.” (Theodore Roosevelt)


I didn’t know what to expect when I started writing this blog in August of 2009. My father was in the hospital having his first surgery for the lymphoma that took his life 2 years later and maybe in some small way that was the spark for my creativity. His passing was kind of a seminal moment and it just seemed like the torch had been passed to me. I doubt that any father and son were ever closer than my dad and I. My son, Thomas and I share almost as much of a bond but we didn’t get the chance to work together for 25 years in the family business. That experience taught me creativity, leadership and the importance of making a difference for others. In some ways, I think that’s what Teddy Roosevelt was talking about when he said this, “Do what you can, where you are, with what you have.” That’s about as good a mission statement for life itself as anyone could ever write.

We all have unique abilities and God-given talents and we are truly blessed when we get to use those gifts for all they are worth. At 55 years of age, I discovered I could write and this blog is the prime example of Roosevelt’s mission statement. I get to share stories with the whole world and it amazes me how many people from foreign countries have taken the time to find my blog. On a daily basis I get about half my views from overseas from places like Moldova, Nepal, Yemen, Russia and Zambia. It makes me believe in universal truths. I haven’t exactly set the literary world on fire with my simple style but real people seem to connect with the things I talk about and thanks to Google everything can be translated into other languages. I would like to think of that connection as the basis for bigger things in the future. Whenever we break down our cultural walls, we all benefit.

At this point, I am faced with a huge realization; people in other countries are actually talking about my blog and sharing it with their friends and family. There is no other way they could have found me because I don’t advertise it and since I quit posting on Facebook there is no other social media outlet. It’s just plain old word of mouth, which is what my father always said was good enough when you do the very best you can. He was brilliant that way and his common sense rings true even more each day. Maybe there’s a bigger message for all of mankind in his words. We all need each other and by doing the best we can each day we will make this a better planet for everybody. That kind of effort will ultimately lead to positive word of mouth and shared values among all of mankind. I’m looking forward to that day.

I think the world of tomorrow has the potential to be the best ever but it’s extremely important that we all communicate with honesty and clarity. I want people in Iran and Russia to believe me when I say I mean them no harm. I do not believe that hatred of others serves any useful purpose and I will never let the government or the media decide for me how I should feel about anyone else who lives on earth. I want the same things that most people want; food on my table, a roof over my head and my family close by. I would gladly give up bombs and missiles and guns for a chance to make peace with everyone. If thousands of people have read my posts and shared them with others, that tells me I’m doing something right and I’m making a difference. And frankly, it wasn’t that hard. I just spoke from my heart and told the truth.

It took me a year to get to 2000 views on this blog. In April I have had 2240 views and most of them are from foreign countries. In less than 3 years time I have had nearly 30,000 views altogether and people from 112 different countries have found me. I’m not the smartest Guy alive but the message seems pretty clear to me, “Do what you can, where you are, with what you have.” We all need to begin today to give our best effort and see where it takes us. As for me, all I want now is to hear from people all over the world. Please leave a comment for me and let me know who you are and what I can do for you and yours.

©Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About grhgraph

Author of grhgraph
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “Do what you can, where you are, with what you have.” (Theodore Roosevelt)

  1. Russ Nesseth says:

    Good for you Guy!

  2. duaneburman says:

    WOW! Brother G., isn’t it amazing what God can do with just a bit of initiative (and forward motion) on our parts?
    You are truly a blessing to so many of us; and your insights & perspective is clear inspirational, yet challenging!
    Peace is something that none of us have the right to withhold from others; and you are making the payments for a great many of us–thanks, Sir.

  3. Marilyn says:

    Guy,
    I stumbled upon your blog simply by trying to remember who is was that said, “Getting old isn’t for sissies.” A link to your blog popped up; what a treat! Something I actually enjoy reading on the internet although I must admit, in all honesty, that I enjoy Dave Barry’s blog too. Anyway, keep up your good works and consider yourself bookmarked at our house.

    Best,

    Marilyn

  4. The full quote is: “Do what you can,Where you are, With what you have.”

  5. What is the source of this quote?

    • grhgraph says:

      I always thought it was attributed to Teddy Roosevelt but if you happen to know differently I will be happy to make the correction. Hope you liked the post too?
      Guy

Leave a Reply

