“Wisdom that don’t make us happier ain’t worth plowing for.” (Josh Billings)


It has been one month since I resigned from Facebook and a really interesting thing has happened, nothing. Nope, the world didn’t stop spinning, the birds didn’t stop singing and the sun still rises every day. In fact, I have had extra time to think about stuff that could be pretty monumental if I can pull it off. In the course of my self-reflection and with a little help from my sister, Marilyn, I stumbled upon a very important historical figure who might just be the inspiration I was looking for. Dietrich Bonhoefer was a German theologian who was executed in 1945 by the Nazis just 3 weeks before the end of the war. Bonhoefer had been Hitler’s biggest critic since his rise to power in 1933. Here is Bonhoefer’s most important contribution to my current thought process, “the ultimate question for a responsible man to ask is not how he is to extricate himself heroically from the affair, but how the coming generation shall continue to live?

Bonhoefer died for his beliefs and the witnesses to his execution all noted how much at peace he was with his death. The Nazis may have killed this one man but his sacrifice helped rid the whole world of their inhumanity. I would be willing to make the same trade if necessary to insure that my children shall continue to live in a better world. Lucky for me, that’s easy to say now because no one is beating down my door trying to silence me.  That doesn’t change the question though, “How many of us would willingly sacrifice our lives for our children’s future?”

When we study the history of mankind, we find many occasions when people had to sacrifice themselves for the greater good. We would be hard pressed to find any century in history when we weren’t killing each other for some stupid reason and this one is no different. In spite of our advanced technology and world-class university educations we still believe in death and destruction as the answer to our problems. WHY? What is it about humans that continues to hold us back? How many people have to die before we learn this lesson?

As a parent of two great kids, my greatest wish is that they live long happy lives in peace on a planet filled with others who only want the same thing. To that end, there is no sacrifice too great for me. That revelation has given me a new purpose. I’m going to figure out some way to start a business that is dedicated to changing the world once and for all. There is a new business entity called a benefit corporation that is well suited to my purpose. It will not be a non-profit but the mission of this company will be to benefit as many people as possible and still make a profit. The more profitable we become the more money will go to help others. I know it sounds crazy but I’ve been called that many times before. This isn’t about me anyway. I don’t want or need to be rich but I do want and need to give the next generation a reasonable chance at happiness.

Even if you think I’m crazy for trying this, aren’t you the least bit interested to see if I can pull it off? It’s going to cost you $1.00 of your hard-earned money to show your confidence in me. I’m planning to put this proposal on www.kickstarter.com and the asking price will be $1.00 each from all the people who are as crazy as me or those who just want to be part of something bigger than themselves. I think changing the world once and for all is worth my time and hopefully a lot of people will jump at the chance to say they were part of this adventure. The wisdom I seek will definitely be worth plowing for and I know we will all be happier.

©Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About grhgraph

Author of grhgraph
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Wisdom that don’t make us happier ain’t worth plowing for.” (Josh Billings)

  1. duaneburman says:

    Let me know when I can ante up, Brother! I had long discussion in this same vein with eldest son who is father to two of our grandchildren yesterday!

Leave a Reply

