“I like the dreams of the future better than the history of the past.” (Thomas Jefferson)


I love this quote and I think it’s the perfect metaphor for the Christmas Season. Christmas is a time to remember what the birth of Jesus Christ means to all who believe in Him. It means the future is like a child waiting to be nurtured. There are no limits on what the future will be and it’s up to us to decide what kind of world we want to have, in the future.

The message Jesus preached was one of forgiveness, compassion, generosity and kindness to all mankind. He never made any distinctions about the color of our skin, our language or gender. All were welcome in his company and all were expected to follow his lead. Jesus talked more about the future than the present and he certainly didn’t dwell on the past. He stated a clear goal, “The Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.” His vision was of a future where all men were equal in the eyes of God and serving others was the only way to live.

That vision still exists today because it speaks to the very nature of who we are as humans. It describes a greatness that resides in all of us and gives us hope that the future will be better than the past if we take it upon ourselves to follow the path of redemption. We can overcome hatred, fear, intolerance and ignorance with love, understanding and compassion. Those qualities are just waiting to be nurtured in every child that is born and grows up in a world where we all firmly believe that, “Whatever you did for the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.”

Christmas is our chance to fulfill Jefferson’s dreams for America. He helped build a foundation for shared commitment to the common good and a nation of people founded on universal principles of fairness, tolerance and equal rights. We have been given the greatest gift in the history of mankind, freedom, and with it comes a responsibility to make the future better than the past. That quest may never be completed but we can all take pride in knowing we were part of the process. Every time we help one another, we help ourselves and our future gets brighter.

So, if you’re like me and you’re not done shopping, maybe the best gift we could ever give would be this simple truth that Jesus gave us 2000 years ago, “Love your neighbor as yourself.” Merry Christmas, Everyone!

©Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com, 2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About grhgraph

Author of grhgraph
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “I like the dreams of the future better than the history of the past.” (Thomas Jefferson)

  1. stormy1812 says:

    This is wonderful! I couldn’t agree more. It’s those gifts of kindness and love that help better the world and are really important. I do want to tell you that I’m giving you the Blog of the Year Award 2013. I love your writing and passion and felt it and you deserved some credit. I hope you don’t mind. Please read more about it here: http://stormy1218.wordpress.com/2013/12/22/merry-december-blog-of-the-year-2013-award/

    • grhgraph says:

      Thanks Jen,
      I think it’s the best Christmas present I could ever get. Awards have never been important to me so I may not participate in the ongoing selection part but that doesn’t diminish how I feel about it. I’m just a humble wordsmith who writes to keep his sanity. If I ever start writing because I want recognition, I will surely lose my edge. I hope you understand my feelings.
      Guy

      • stormy1812 says:

        Of course! I didn’t expect you would. I surely don’t write to get recognized either but it was an opportunity for me to show recognition to others. 🙂 Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

