“The grand essentials of happiness are: something to do, something to love and something to hope for.” (Allan Chalmers)


Grhgraph's Blog

I became a father for the first time on May 29, 1985 when my son, Thomas, was born. At that moment I was given all of the essentials of happiness. After a long night of labor for my wife, he came into this world early in the morning. Once the nurses cleaned him up and wrapped him in a blanket then I had my first experience as a father. I carried him across the room to his weary mother and placed him in her arms.  I’m not sure who was happier. Carol was emotionally and physically drained from the long labor but she perked right up when she got her first look at her little boy with hair so long it needed to be cut immediately. She cried a little but mostly I could see that she was very happy to be holding this little bundle of joy. I got…

View original post 684 more words

About grhgraph

Author of grhgraph
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “The grand essentials of happiness are: something to do, something to love and something to hope for.” (Allan Chalmers)

  1. mag194 says:

    I agree,  in general is easy to have those essentials, but also we should try to be aware  and appreciate any kind of happiness, but not all the desired  happiness are the same. You may be happy for one thing and still missing the other happiness you wish to have,  like: Love, Health, Family, Success, Money and etc. It seems we are always pursuing happiness even when we have reached what we want yesterday, we created a new one to pursue again tomorrow.

    • grhgraph says:

      You might also enjoy reading my post “There is more to life than increasing its speed.” Very much the same as your comment. Thanks for reading my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

