“In love, one and one are one.” (Jean-Paul Sartre)


My daughter Lauren got married yesterday to Bob Klug (rhymes with clue). It was a day filled with every positive emotion and one I will never forget. Lauren even got me to dance for the first time in 40 years.  We shared a father/daughter dance while Bob Marley’s Three Little Birds played in the hall. That had to be a first.

When it came time to give my father-of-the-bride speech, I actually blew my lines but no one noticed so today I’m going to finish my thoughts in this blog.  I will include the first part of that paragraph for the purpose of context…… “Lauren you chose well and you’re really lucky that Bob even exists. Personally, I had my doubts that you would ever find a guy who could meet all of your expectations but with your usual tenacity you did and except for that Packers thing, I think he’s great too so you have my blessing. Now Bob, welcome to the family. You have no idea what you signed up for do you? That’s OK, neither did I, but the good news is – when you’re in love anything is possible.”

After the wedding last night, as I was contemplating what would make this a better post, it occurred to me that “One and one make one” was the perfect metaphor for that sentiment.  Love is the single most powerful emotion any human can ever experience and it makes anything possible. It brings us together in ways that nothing else can and it binds us together as extended families with people from all over the world. It is the elixir of life and the one thing we all need to share as often as possible. Spending an entire day experiencing this phenomenon is about as joyful as it gets. I got to share moments with people who would have never come into my life except for this one reason, to give Lauren and Bob a day to remember for all the days to come.

I toasted their marriage with a very sincere wish for their future, “May God bless your marriage and may every day of your lives together be even better than today.” That’s what love and commitment bring to the union of souls, the firm belief that loving each other makes anything possible. Marriage is never easy and it doesn’t always work like we thought it would but that’s why we need to start the journey together with a firm commitment. We try, we fail and we try again but we keep holding on to each other, no matter what, because love is the foundation the commitment rests on.

That’s what Jesus gave us with his death, a commitment to undying love for all mankind. He set the standard for all eternity and now we all know what it takes to perpetuate his mission. It takes all we have, every day, with everyone and no one gets left out. Love is all-consuming and the only goal worth pursuing. More than any other thing, I want my children to have this purpose for their lives, love one another and make a commitment that will stand the test of time. Then they will have all the blessings that love has to offer.

In order to make that future possible here’s a thought that I can’t possibly improve on, “Love is, above all, the gift of oneself.” (Jean Anouilh)

©Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com, 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

About grhgraph

Author of grhgraph
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “In love, one and one are one.” (Jean-Paul Sartre)

  1. russnesseth says:

    Dear Horst family…Guy, I read your blog this morning and I’m left with a profound feeling of joy for your entire family.  These occasions shine light where there are sometimes shadows and renew the memory of the blessings that God has given us.  I can imagine the smile on your mom’s face and know that your dad was also sharing the moment.  You are fortunate to have such a wonderful family and isn’t it great that love is not a finite quantity.  God bless you all.

    Cousin Russ

    Sent via the Samsung GALAXY S®4, an AT&T 4G LTE smartphone

  2. riverkatie says:

    Congratulations Lauren and Bob.
    We have just celebrated our 29th wedding anniversary, and have survived many things, both personal and disaster related, and I would like to offer a few words. Of course you are free to ignore them, I have no idea who you are and you don’t know me either.

    My husband and I were told a marriage takes ‘give and take’ if it is to last but we are minimalists at heart and only bother with the first bit….give….which is quite enough, as long as you BOTH do it.

    Best wishes.

  3. Amy says:

    I am so glad that Jason, Dan, and I were able to make it down to celebrate Lauren and Bob joining their lives together! Love and family are the two most important things in my life. Lucky for me, I am lucky in love and lucky to have such a loving family, no matter the distance – and that “Packer” thing 😉 I’m looking forward to the years ahead as our family continues to grow in numbers and in love. It was great seeing everyone!

  4. Congratulations to Lauren and Bob!
    A marriage is another success in life and as you put it: “In love anything is possible”. This is also an inspiring example for people who are still searching…

Leave a Reply

