“It’s whatcha do with whatcha got.” (Don Raye)


This title was given to me by one of my newest grhgraph followers, TimWalker. It’s a song from a movie named So Dear To Me. I wasn’t familiar with either one but I always try to accept the challenge presented by reader requests. So here goes.

It’s funny how often things happen to me that seem to follow a specific pattern. I get a quote stuck in my head and then I start looking for ideas that I can attach to it to give it life and a place on this blog. Then the real world interrupts me and adds experiences to the theme I’m working on at that moment. The last three days have been precisely what I needed to give this catchy song title a new existence.

On Friday night, I was sent out to pickup a foster child who was being taken to the psychiatric hospital in Kansas City, Kansas for evaluation. The only problem was, he was about three hours away which meant I would get home about four in the morning given the dense fog I was driving in all the way there and back. It wasn’t a horrible drive but it was bad enough with more than a few deer standing just outside my headlights as I whipped by at 60 mph on mostly single lane highways. The kid slept and I sang along with lots of Christmas songs playing on the radio. He got checked in and I made it home by 4 A.M. but I really didn’t sleep much. On Saturday night, the Christmas classic, “It’s a Wonderful Life“, was on TV and I caught parts of it while I kept up with several college football games. It is my favorite movie of all time and I’ve seen it so many times I could probably recite every line. On Sunday morning, the church service was based on themes from the same movie and then it all came together in an epiphany as I was walking out.

For all of my life I have identified with Jimmy Stewart’s character, George Bailey, especially the last ten years or so. After I closed my business, I kind of lost my way in life. Working for other people in the printing business never worked for me and I eventually ended up taking the job I have now out of sheer desperation for a paycheck with benefits. To say it pays less than I’m worth would be the understatement of all time. I am on call seven days a week for 24 hours a day and I average about 4 days off the road per month. It is one of the most demanding jobs I have ever had. At 60 years old, most people my age are planning their retirement. That’s not an option for me and I will probably die on the job. So yes, I can appreciate the dilemma George Bailey faced in this movie. He thought he would be better off dead.

The epiphany that came to me today was a great reminder of what God really means to me. It’s what you do with what you got, that matters to Him. My life before was similar to George Bailey’s but now it’s more like Clarence the Angel, who earned his wings by helping George. Every time I meet a new kid in foster care, God is asking me to take good care of them. He’s letting me earn my wings and a place at His side, when my turn comes to take the last leap of faith. God has spent the last 50 years of my life preparing me for the work I’m doing now. I would not be faithful if I gave anything less than all I’ve got.

Each of us has a destiny. Each of us owes it to the rest of humanity to fulfill that destiny the best way we can, by serving others. George Bailey was a faithful servant and when he needed help, Clarence came along at just the right time to save him from the depths of his despair. How many people do we all know who need that same effort, on their behalf, right now? George and Clarence represent the fellowship of all mankind and they both benefited from the other’s existence. The most important aspect of faith is that we do our best work with whatever we have and always for others. We can all be just like George and Clarence by giving our best effort every day and that’s why…                                                                         ……it really is a wonderful life.

©Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com, 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content

About grhgraph

Author of grhgraph
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

