“No man but a blockhead ever wrote, except for money.” (Samuel Johnson)


I think it’s time for a new challenge. I recently posted my 200th blog and passed 150,000 views here at grhgraph. Given how little I know about the tricks of the trade for social media, I would like to think the quality of the writing itself has generated all of that attention. In order to prove that hypothesis once and for all there remains just one major challenge to calling myself a writer. I have to publish something that sells. I have published an e-book before and it was overwhelmingly ignored.

It’s clear to me now that leadership and small business management lessons aren’t very popular subjects, so this time I chose to go out on the proverbial limb and write something humorous. At least I hope so. Time will tell if I’m right about that. My favorite kind of humor is sarcasm so I’m taking a huge chance here that others will share  my views on humanity and the bizarre way the world works. Trust me, this book is definitely not for everyone. I even included a warning in the preface. I’m not crazy enough to believe this will ever be a huge success but I’m hoping for more than a few readers this time. Friends and family aren’t going to be enough to cure my need for writing validation.

In my usual way of self-promotion, which is minimal at best, I will give you a brief synopsis of the book. It’s called, Say What? The inspiration for this creation came from Mark Twain’s Letters from the Earth. In my opinion, Letters from the Earth is the most irreverent book ever published and it remains Twain’s most controversial piece of writing. To me, it was pure genius and it spawned a million wild ideas in my adolescent brain that have been put forth in my five years here on WordPress. Letters from the Earth was a series of stories explaining life on this planet as Satan would have explained it to God in some parallel universe where those two were on speaking terms.

My version of this story consists of me being abducted by aliens from the planet Zyntaaxea and asked to explain the English language and popular culture to them so they can better understand our civilization. I am taken away to their planet and over a period of hours I am engaged in a dialogue with Mitra, who is a female Zyntaaxean and head of their linguistics lab. I do my best to explain the mind-numbing way we communicate and the irrational way we behave but my cynical sense of humor gets the best of me and I can’t help but make fun of it all. Even those of you who love to laugh will still be challenged by my sarcasm.

I would really enjoy writing as a full-time career if it paid the bills. It’s just the kind of work I could do for another 20 or 30 years which would be great because I really don’t want to retire.  The older I get the more my life experience lends itself to good writing and especially the humorous stuff. I think Mark Twain inspired me when he wrote these words, “It takes a heap of sense to write good nonsense.”

Here’s the link to the Amazon Kindle site where the book is for sale. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00T852RYK

The way I understand it, you can buy the e-book for $2.99 or read it for free if you’re a member of Amazon Unlimited.. Either way, I get paid something for my 8,000 word effort. I only need about $5 a word to make this profitable and quit my day job. I guess that means I need about 50,000 people with a sense of humor as warped as mine. Today is my 61st birthday so maybe I should just hope for 50,000 people who are crazy enough to pay Amazon $2.99 just to encourage me to keep writing. Stranger things have happened, but not to me. That’s what makes this opportunity so much fun.

Thanks again to all who have read my blog. I am still amazed that people actually take time out of their day to read the things I write.

©Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com, 2015. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content

About grhgraph

Author of grhgraph
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “No man but a blockhead ever wrote, except for money.” (Samuel Johnson)

  1. bbeatson3 says:

    I will read the book! Always enjoy sarcastic humor…?!!?!

    • grhgraph says:

      Thanks Becky,
      So far, you are one-of-a-kind. Apparently my warning scared people off. Only one copy has been sold. That’s what I get for being honest. Maybe I should try writing drivel. That seems to be the only thing that sells. Mark Twain is spinning in his grave right now. At least I tried to do something better.

  2. stormy1812 says:

    I love Mark Twain! I haven’t read enough of his work but I’ll be sure to fix some of that soon here. I’ll be sure to check out your book. 🙂 I like sarcasm…I work in a newspaper office lol. I have to deal with it daily.

Leave a Reply

