“What matters today is not the difference between those who believe and those who do not believe but the difference between those who care and those who don’t.” (Abbe Pierre)


It all comes down to this question,”Do we care anymore?” Frankly, in my experience, believing is easy but caring is hard. People who genuinely care are asking for a hard life because they have empathy for the plight of others and they want to help. I found this out seven years ago, when I decided to work with foster children. I had always considered myself a believer but for the first time in my life I was asked to care and act on my beliefs.

Caring has nearly gotten me killed on numerous occasions and I have very little to show for all of my efforts. Every child got home safely while in my care but I have no way of knowing if any of them are better off than before they met me. I argue constantly with the system run by the state in favor of better treatment for these kids but I always lose to the bureaucracy of foster care. Nothing ever changes and I get reminded to just do my job. I thought my job was to care but apparently I was wrong.

There has to be something inherently wrong with a world where caring individuals are stymied by government and a twisted belief system that rewards conformity and punishes careful consideration. Caring is no longer a popular notion and those who still possess some degree of empathy are being pushed further away from the norms of society in favor of selfishness. I can’t live that way. I was taught to seek out problems, find solutions and make things better for all. It was a belief system given to me by my family that required action not just words. Caring was the single most important attribute to possess and it was the only goal in life worth striving for.

If we, as a nation, continue down this path of arrogance and narcissism then we shall get exactly what we deserve, which is nothing worth having. Goodness and humanity will be replaced with godlessness and discord, like we have never seen before in the history of the world. To me, more than ever, this feels like the 1920’s all over again, just before the Great Depression. If we don’t look back on the lessons of the past and see the same mistakes being repeated again, then we deserve whatever we get. It doesn’t have to be that way but getting more people to care is becoming critically urgent. Belief is not enough and the longer we hesitate the greater the sacrifice will have to be when we finally have no other choice. World War II cost humanity about 50 million people worldwide. Everybody lost a loved one and everybody was forced to care, eventually.

I think Albert Schweitzer clearly summarized my thesis when he said this, “There is no higher religion than human service. To work for the common good is the greatest creed.” Let’s try working together, serving humanity and proving our faith once and for all. Caring is believing.

©Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com, 2015. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About grhgraph

Author of grhgraph
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “What matters today is not the difference between those who believe and those who do not believe but the difference between those who care and those who don’t.” (Abbe Pierre)

  1. T Wallin says:

    Requesting permission to repost.

Leave a Reply

