“All things are possible to him who believes.” (Jesus)


A new friend just commented on an old post titled, “The true meaning of life is to plant trees under whose shade you do not expect to sit.” This is one of the first things I ever published here on WordPress and it continues to be a popular post still today. This particular friend plants trees for a living and she understood exactly the point I was trying to make.

There is something genuinely spirit-filled about planting a tree. It is the ultimate expression of faith in the future of humanity. It is belief in action. Why else would anyone bother to take up this huge project? Every sapling needs a lot of care to survive that first year and establish its roots. Without a firm belief that the future will be worth living, why would we bother to plant a tree? My grandfather was in his seventies when he started his tree farm. He had no chance of seeing the fruits of his labor but he did it anyway because he believed in his grandchildren. He knew we would take over after he was gone and finish the job.

I can’t tell you how good that makes me feel. Every time I walk through that grove of white pines I am reminded of my place on this planet. I was put here to do my part to make this earth better for everyone by taking care of plants, animals and other humans. I believe my life has purpose and my death will have meaning because I accepted the great commission, to love thy neighbor as thyself.

At a point in history, when loving thy neighbor has become a ridiculous notion and hatred abounds, our faith is being tested like never before. It almost seems like the future is impossible because we struggle to believe in humanity and some people seem to be hoping the end is near just to prove they were right about their particular beliefs. That’s not faith, that’s selfishness and conceit brought on by hubris. It is only by holding on to each other as faithful beings that we will have all the possibilities Jesus promised us centuries ago. We have to trust each other and plant the seeds of humanity for one and all. How much faith we place in each other will determine our future, not the threat of Armageddon.

Every time someone new reaches out to me on this blog it gives me hope. Hope for tomorrow, hope for humanity and hope for our children. We should keep planting trees for our kids to sit under. We should plant flowers for them to smell and admire. And most of all, we should plant kindness into the hearts of everyone we meet. I will never stop believing in the future Jesus wants for us and I will gladly do whatever it takes to fulfill his expectations. All things are possible, to those who believe.

Would you dare to believe with me?

©Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com, 2015. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About grhgraph

Author of grhgraph
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to “All things are possible to him who believes.” (Jesus)

  1. gh says:

    I certainly do believe with you, Guy, and in you as someone who strives to make life meaningful and to understand and obey all God expects of us. Thanks for another thought-provoking message!

  2. stormy1812 says:

    I love this post! I so agree that at a time when things seem to be falling apart, this is when we need to believe even more and with more conviction. I’m tired of people thinking that fighting and war and being more paranoid is somehow going to help – it hasn’t helped on iota yet so why not try something new?!? Well not even new but different. Great post! 🙂

  3. grhgraph says:

    Thanks, Jen. It’s always great to hear your perspective on my thoughts. Even if people don’t believe in a higher power we can at least believe in each other. I keep trying to tell that story. I hope it catches on eventually.
    Guy

  4. Lotte says:

    Guy, what an amazing post and amazing heritage you have!! Planting trees…….like planting seeds. If you want apples you plant Apple seeds not orange seeds. Plant kindness you get kindness. God sure knew what He was doing with the seed time and harvest principle in His Word!! You do reap what you sow!! Please keep these blogs coming!! Great quiet time read that we all need ! Thank you!!

    • grhgraph says:

      Thought you might like this one. Kind of what we always talked about. Have a great day in the sunshine. We’re going on 4 days of rain and clouds here.

  5. Douglas says:

    Hi Guy.Good Morning !!! Hope you already having a good day !! I read some of your post here.And have to confess you have a talent to write :-)…Love the idea of plant trees and plant kindness in everyone s hearts !!! Could i may ask you from what part of the globe you writing from ? And well done to your Grandfather 🙂 .

    • grhgraph says:

      I live in the great state of Kansas in the US of A. My grandfather did his planting in Minnesota. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

Leave a Reply

