“To believe your own thought, to believe that what is true for you in your private heart is true for all men – that is genius.” (Ralph Waldo Emerson)


I don’t usually celebrate birthdays but today I will make an exception because this one feels different. Normally, I just spend the day reminding people that I share February 6th with Bob Marley and Babe Ruth, kind of like birthday bragging rights. But in my heart I know I’m sharing it with millions of other people too. Today marks 62 years that I have been contributing to life on this planet and I have been blessed with two good hands, the ability to think for myself and lately, with WordPress to take me around the globe.

Since the beginning of this new year, Grhgraph has been wildly popular in places I have never been. People from Latvia, Estonia, Lithuania, Ukraine, Czech Republic, Hungary, Belarus and many others from the four corners of the world have been coming to WordPress to read what I write. How is it that a Guy from Kansas strung together some words that transcend cultural borders? Without WordPress to spread those words my efforts wouldn’t amount to much. That’s the genius of WordPress, not me. I will take credit for being a contributor to their success but that pales in comparison to how much WordPress has changed my life for the better.

The feeling I get from the time I spend writing is really special. That feeling was reinforced this week when I finally got to 100 followers. Number 100 was a very nice woman from Canada who also happens to be a WordPress consultant. She actually liked a post that I thought was way too personal to ever be liked by anyone outside of my immediate family or friends. I sent her an email of thanks and she responded by telling me she thought she had found a gem. That might be the nicest thing any stranger ever said about me. Without WordPress, that memorable moment would not have been possible.

Words that bring us together on common ground are the most important part of our existence. We have more similarities than we have differences and by expressing our humanity with carefully chosen words and acts of kindness, we can change the future of humanity for the benefit of all mankind. The more time we spend thoughtfully communicating our deepest feelings, the better chance we have of touching those same emotions in someone else on the other side of the globe. That’s how we save the planet, with one kind word at a time.

I’m just one blogger and there are millions more who try just as hard as I do to share their thoughts. Some succeed and some don’t but that’s not really the point, as far as I’m concerned. The number of followers we get isn’t that important if what we’re writing is genuinely heartfelt and honest. The more we all open up about our lives, the more likely we are to overcome our innate fear of the unknown. Fear is our enemy, not foreigners. People come here to read my thoughts and I try to tell stories that anyone can appreciate. I try hard to put the right words together that will eventually lead the reader to a better understanding of an old Guy from Kansas who has a fair share of wisdom. I wasn’t born this way but 50 years of hard work have given me insights that are universally true. What else can I do with my well-earned wisdom, if I don’t share it?

WordPress is the only social media site on the internet where I reside. I willingly admit my ignorance when it comes to things like search engine optimization and blogging expertise. I just write and let my words bring me connections. That way I know unequivocally, that every person who came here heard about me from someone else. That’s my goal in life now, to start conversations with people that lead to mutual understanding and possibly, compassion for others. We have to talk to each other if we want the world to change for the better. WordPress helps me do that every time I post. That’s why symbiotic relationships are the best and most meaningful. We all win, when we share our collective wisdom.

I guess that makes this birthday one I will always remember. I made a new friend in Canada. I made it to 100 followers this week and I passed 200,000 views, just a couple of weeks ago. That’s pretty good for a Guy who just set out to share a few thoughts with honesty, compassion and a sense of humor. To all my unknown friends at WordPress I say, THANKS FOR EVERYTHING! I couldn’t and I wouldn’t do this without you. I think Ralph Waldo Emerson might have said these words to inspire the genius in all of you.

©Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com, 2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

 

 

 

About grhgraph

Author of grhgraph
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “To believe your own thought, to believe that what is true for you in your private heart is true for all men – that is genius.” (Ralph Waldo Emerson)

  1. gwenna says:

    Happiest Birthday wishes, Guy! Thanks for your willingness to openly share through your blog. You’ve brought me tears and laughter, unwanted thoughts and great ideas! Have some fun today! The universe celebrates YOU!!

  2. Russ Nesseth says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, Guy…and regards to your family.

  3. Karen says:

    I’m glad I found your blog as it has give me insight to the love and kindness of someone I have never met.

    Enjoy this special day and in the months & years to come, continue to celebrate and share your world through your words!

    • grhgraph says:

      Karen,
      The feeling is mutual. You keep sharing your unique view of the world and I will do the same. Maybe we’ll get to meet in Heaven some day. I bet we’ll both be laughing.

  4. stormy1812 says:

    Happy birthday! As always a very lovely post and I just love when you talk about sharing our collective wisdom because I couldn’t agree more. In each of us there is so much worth sharing that could be helpful. We do need to put aside the fear and anger and let love reign if you will and see where that will take us. I know I’m on a personal journey of working hard to be kind every day. I just think that fear, anger, hate haven’t accomplished anything but make things worse so I feel like it’s time to let kindness and love lead the way instead. There’s more but this isn’t about me, it’s about your and your post and I love the words you’ve strung together. You make such excellent points! I hope you have an excellent day!

    • grhgraph says:

      Thanks Jen,
      I really don’t like bringing attention to myself but I will gladly accept your good wishes. We all need to try harder to be kind and thankfully I seem to have a knack for expressing it here on WP. Hope your day is excellent as well.

Leave a Reply

