“Love you forever and forever. Love you with all my heart.” (Paul McCartney)


I made it. Tomorrow my son gets married and I will be there to enjoy the occasion with the whole family. In my line of work, I always wonder if I’m going to make it home each night because I drive 70,000 miles a year and this last month has been particularly risky. I see no reason to recount all the hazards I avoided on the road so let’s just say I’m thankful to be here and I am really looking forward to the big day.

Thomas is the best son I could ever hope for and I am eternally grateful that he kept looking until he found Leah. She makes him better in every imaginable way and her daughter Verity has transformed him into a wonderful father, which makes me very happy. It wasn’t that many years ago that I was beginning to think he might go the confirmed bachelor route because babies worried him.

I remember how it felt when he was born and how much I depended on my wife for guidance. I had no clue what to do but she was all over it. My wife was a fantastic mother from day one, which helped make up for my failings as a first-time father. I was working sixty hours a week then so she could stay home full-time and that worked well for both of us. Slowly but surely, I got used to being a dad and by the time he was two I wanted to spend every minute I could with him because he was just that much fun. Thomas has been with Verity for almost her whole life and I can see a similar transformation.

I spend every day working with children and most of the time I truly enjoy the experience. I get lots of hugs, a few tears and more than a little childish behavior but all of it is meaningful and worthwhile. To see my son become a dad is one of the highlights of my life. Every man should be so lucky. Tomorrow, I get to give the message at their wedding ceremony and I have a very special one in mind. My speaking skills are not equal to my writing skills so please pray for me tomorrow around 5 o’clock. The good news is he has already learned everything I needed to teach him so now I get to revel in the moment. I can’t possibly say it any better than Paul McCartney did when he wrote his great song I Will, “Love you forever and forever. Love you with all my heart. Love you whenever we’re together. Love you when we’re apart.”

©Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com, 2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Guy R. Horst and grhgraph.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About grhgraph

Author of grhgraph
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to “Love you forever and forever. Love you with all my heart.” (Paul McCartney)

  1. Your sister says:

    I am praying and “amen-ing”!

  2. Gwenna says:

    Thanks for sharing all the feelings that go with such a meaningful time. Your son is a great dad because he has learned from u. Enjoy the memory making day!

  3. Jan says:

    Guy, Congratulations on your sons wedding. I’m sure it will be a magical day! Jeff and I are headed to KC mid-October so hope to see you then. Jan

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  4. Adenia says:

    Guy, Clark & I are so happy for Thomas & Leah and your whole family! How wonderful! We will be thinking of you all and praying for you at 5:00! God bless you all! 💜✝️💜🙏

  5. Anonymous says:

    🙏💖💜💖

  6. You did great at the wedding. I’m so grateful to have you and all our McClintick family in our lives! I’m looking forward to getting to know Verity and Leah more and see Thomas grow as a husband and a father. You did a great job raising both of your children. It certainly isn’t an easy task! Take care and hope to see you at the lake!

    – Amy

Leave a Reply

